Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Replikeo problems

Posted by dbk3d 
Replikeo problems
June 30, 2014 08:14AM
Hello I am new to the 3d printer world and I need a bit of advice.
I bought a replikeo and am having problems.
Yes I have emailed them but they have not responded.

It is the i3 kit with a Mk2a headbed that has blown the mosfet on the Ramps 1.4.
The resistance on the heabed is 0.8 Ohms, which is low according to the forums. First print the mosfet smoked then the heatbed would not turn off.

After the damage I have read on the forums that I should have a fan running on the ramps.
Can i replace the mosfet and run a fan on the ramps board and it will be OK?

Or

Should I buy a new heat bed from a reputable supplier? Any recomendations for Australia. As well as replace the mosfet.

Also is it possible to print PLA with out the headbed?
I have tried to print ojects but they curl up off the bed, then are pushed of by the extruder.
Am I wasting my time and should I wait until I have sorted the head bed?

I have had it for a month and still haven't printed anything resembling a part.

Thanks
David
Re: Replikeo problems
August 04, 2014 06:11AM
Thanks for the communities help.

For anyone else who has the same problems i did. I replaced the heat bed with a good quality one ,as well as a boro glass sheet, from aus3d. In spec and have been using it for a few weeks with a replacement standard ramps board. It works perfectly now. So the crap replikeo headbed was the problem. Replikeo ignored the emails i sent them. So they don't stand behind there kits.
I did buy a IRLB8743 mosfet to replace the fried one from the original ramps but have not installed it and will use it as a spare.
I put a heat sink on the Q3 mosfet but it hardly gets hot now i have a good heat bed.
Fan to come in the future to cool the ramps board. Just to be safe.

More bad things to note about the replikeo kit: