Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

N00B Issue

Posted by bkwapisz 
N00B Issue
March 24, 2014 08:26AM
Hello everyone. My name is Brian and I am a newbie. Just got my "almost new" i3 PRusa Friday, took it completely apart and rebuilt it using the video so I know what does what where, no problems there. (I used EVERYTHING that is referred to in the instructions as for software and drivers) and the machine prints some OK Cubes, etc. Did the gorilla too, came out OK by my standards, however I have one other problem as yet:

Sometimes, the object I am printing comes off of the table midway thru and it gets ruined. I am not sure why. I looked at the code for the gorilla and noted that about 1/3 way thru, it changed both the bed temp and the extruder temp on me, effectively lowering the temps to the point where they were unworkable. My machine came with 1/2 reel of some plastic and I do not know if it is ABS or PLA. I bought some ABS and PLA and loaded up a reel of black ABS and let her go. No problems with the print until I tried the obligatory Yoda bust and got up to about the nose when it popped off the table and I got a ball of squiggles. I have not looked into the Yoda code yet as it is huge and I was tired.

I was using the recommended temp settings of 230Extrude and 110Bed. I am using the 1/8 glass plate and all of the stock hardware as supplied by the manufacturer. If anyone has any thoughts I would gladly appreciate the input. GREAT FORUM! Been on here a few minutes and already learned a lot.

Thanks in advance,

B
Re: N00B Issue
March 24, 2014 09:53PM
Are you not applying any fixative to the glass first? e.g. hairspray, ABS juice, or whatever?

March 25, 2014 04:32AM