Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

mendel commisioning - need help

mendel commisioning - need help
February 23, 2014 10:18PM
Hi,

I have just finished building and wiring my first mendel i2. I moved on to commissioning but encountered multiple problems. keep in mind I am a complete noob.

First of all I upload sprinter and connected my printer to my mac using pronterface. The printer connects fine. when I try to move the motors they each move one step at a time no matter if I press 1,10, or 100. None of the motors move in a negative direction either ( endstops?). the bed and extruder heat but the extruder motor and the z motors wont move in either direction. all motors make are a buzzing or humming sound when activated and they seem to work fine until mounted to the printer. I have tweeked my pots so all the drivers read .7v and im pretty sure that the pots are not the problem. When I press the home button the motors still only move one "step" except for one time when the y axis actually returned to the endstop. note that the frame measurements are slightly off because the printed parts got stuck but I made sure the rods are all parallel. also my extruder motor on the wade is interferring with my "X" belt is this normal?

could any of this have to do with my steps per unit? or maybe something else in the firmware.(I have done my research on firmware but still do not fully understand how to configure it)

and finally, would switching to marlin do any good?

Thanks,
Ryan Miller
www.basicblacklabel.com
Re: mendel commisioning - need help
February 24, 2014 02:38AM
There is no reason to not use Sprinter. Upload the config file so we can take a look.
Are you using Ramps? If so, have you installed all the jumpers under the Pololu chips?
Have you calculated your X,Y and Z steps? ( [reprap.org] )