Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

MakerFarm Prusa i3

Posted by congaree 
MakerFarm Prusa i3
April 13, 2013 10:36AM
Need some advice...I'm doing my research now for a new 3D printer. I'm pretty cost sensitive, so I've been trying to get the very best bang for the buck, yet wind up with an excellent printer in the end. The Prusa i3, though a fairly new and evolving design, seems to be the best cost/performance option out there. So, I've spent the last 2 weeks attempting to source parts for it in the US. And yes, I need to stay with US sourced parts, since international shipping costs are a killer.

Looking at the whole picture, I've concluded that I'm looking at a total BOM cost of about $500 to $600 w/shipping (not including tools) as the very best case. I'm also having to factor in that there is some risk of purchasing poor quality and/or incorrect parts, since I'm rather new to this.

So, looking at complete DIY kits available, the hands down winner on the cost front is the Prusa i3 kit from Maker Farm. The complete kit is about the cost of the parts sourced individually (it'll run a small bit over $600)...with a very small, single shipping bill.

Does anybody have experience with this kit and/or Makerfarm? The kit looks very well made and they have some nice 'extras'. It is also clear that they've paid attention to quality (using GT2 pulley's and belts).

This just seems to be the clear choice from a price/performance standpoint...also, I love the idea of building it myself.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

UPDATE: One drawback I do see with this particular model is that it has a relatively small build volume at 6 in x 3 (about 150 mm). I'm not sure what it is for other Prusa i3 kits/DIY, but I thought 200m x 3 was more or less standard.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/13/2013 01:51PM by congaree.
Re: MakerFarm Prusa i3
April 13, 2013 08:55PM