Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Broken PTFE insulator in hotend - Why?

Posted by zittix 
Broken PTFE insulator in hotend - Why?
January 23, 2012 09:33AM
Dear all,

I'm quite new to the reprap community and since one month I successfully built my Prusa Mendel. I can now print more or less correctly but this morning, I had a huge failure of my hot end for the second time (!).

I have bought the hot-end here: [www.thereprapkitstore.co.uk]

And this morning the PTFE insulator just broke and the melted plastic were leaking everywhere. I don't have a picture but I found someone who had the same issue: [www.ppl-pilot.com]ℑ=~/App_Data/UserImages/Image/rrp3.jpg

I have exactly the same setup as in the picture (with the PEEK block and everything). So my question is why my PTFE rod broke? Because it's already the second time it broke and I couldn't find any replacement except buying the whole hot end again.

Any help is really appreciated.

Thanks a lot.

Mathieu
VDX
Re: Broken PTFE insulator in hotend - Why?
January 23, 2012 10:19AM
... it's mostly bending of the the thread-start and excess pressure, what's ripping the weakest part off eye rolling smiley

Viktor
--------
Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - [reprap.org] -- Deutsche Facebook-Gruppe - [www.facebook.com]

Call for the project "garbage-free seas" - [reprap.org]
January 23, 2012 10:22AM
Thanks for your answer Viktor.

That's what I thought. For some reason the hot end seems to bend the PTFE rod eye popping smiley. Do you know a solution to that or a better hot-end alternative?
January 23, 2012 10:26AM
Did you screw the PEEK block to the extruder?

[www.hydraraptor.blogspot.com]
January 23, 2012 10:28AM
Yep it is completly screwed, with bolts on the top and bottom of the peek block, preventing it to move up or down.
January 23, 2012 10:38AM