Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

cool stuff to try

Posted by nuscient 
nuscient
cool stuff to try
February 25, 2007 07:17AM
thermite is alunium powder and iron oxide powder fun stuff when lit
possable to make magnets if proporshining is correct and subject to magnetic fields
lites with a wielder arc too

enameled magnet wire feed threw soldering tip
to start heat the iron feed some wire, feed some solder and cool the tip.
feed copper and move plotter to end point.
heat the iron,feed solder and press in to cut the copper

add cnc like head change function
add lazer or microwave heating
vacuum box & plasma arc to sputter p-type n-type to silcone on a pice of glass
making custom chips is far out
but mine will be nuclear powered!!!
Re: cool stuff to try
March 02, 2007 11:50AM
Actually I work with thermite for a living, developing materials for the metalworking industry. I tried at one point to sinter aluminum powder into a conductive rod using a thermite derivative, thinking that a thermite paste could be extruded out a cold barrel and then lite to make a wire. The problem was that the conductivity was extremly poor with the aluminum oxide that gets formed.

Never tried making magnets however.

Mike

The email is a spam trap, ask if you want a real one.
March 02, 2007 08:15PM
Mike,

I was wondering, who do you use as suppliers for powdered metal?
I'm looking to pick up ~1 kg of powdered bronze.

-Sebastien
April 29, 2007 03:38PM
You could try ebay. I did some 'experiments' with thermite once, got everything i needed off ebay.
sid
May 03, 2007 01:26PM
Uh yes.. that's exactly what I want in my "garage"... burning thermite...

One bad spark in the "I got me some kilos thermite and store it right here next to the fire"-bucket, and you'll be having a nice "burn the house down" barbecue grinning smiley

I'd guess, that'll be a fun thing to watch..... but NOT AT HOME!