Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

2-axes delta style +1 axis cartesian style repstrap---need help with firmware

Posted by Zazza 
2-axes delta style +1 axis cartesian style repstrap---need help with firmware
January 01, 2014 03:12PM
Hi everyone , i'm new in the RepRap community and after some "voyeurism" would like to actively take part in it, so i've decided to start working on my own project .I apologise if the following post will be too long so leave now if you have not patience or time smiling smiley .
Being without a work i couldn't really afford a premade kit and still buying online all the different parts would be too much expensive for me so i'm going to use the things i can buy on the territory trying to get the best of what i find, and inspiring to all the beautiful projects most of you guys ideated and using some of my engineering student knowledge i tried to take the features of every project which had the best result over price ratio.
So i tried to remove all the expensive parts switching them to something good enough to do the work but not as-like expensive.
The resulting project was a blend between a delta setup (in x-z plane) and a cartesian printer (in y plane). I attached a render of the project for a more clear understanding.
This should have a square aluminum extrusions frame linked by plastic 2/3-ways 90° joints that can be easilly found in bricolage stores as the bearing drawers slides that it should use as linear slides (i must say this is actually only an idea, will have to verify the possibility to use these). Motion of the extruder in the x-z plane would be provided by aluminum round extrusion with flat eyelet screws on both ends (so without the need of traxxas) while motion on the y plane would be provided by the moving bottom sled . All the moving parts would be driven using spectra lines and the usual Nema-17 + Ramps 1.4+Arduino.