Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

RAMPS firmware (G61/G64 ) --Motion Tolerance ?

Posted by dave.cowden 
RAMPS firmware (G61/G64 ) --Motion Tolerance ?
November 19, 2011 10:40PM
Hi, all:

I'm a cnc hobbiest, and reprap nut. I have been following reprap for years, and have been working on my own repstrap for a while, though progress is slow. I am by no means an expert, but I have built and operated my own CNC machine. I use EMC2 for control-- it is an excellent motion controller, though unfortunately typically in a much less convenient package size-wise than a RAMPS board sad smiley

I've noticed that folks using RAMPS tend to print more slowly when they want 'good quality', and more quickly when quality is not as important, or based on the geometry of the object, they know the errors will be low.

There is a better way-- the way emc2 does it. The idea is to set a tolerance ( say, 0.001 inches ) using G64. This tolerance represents to the controller the maximum allowable distance from the programmed path that is allowed. When moving, the motion controller will smooth out corners to the extent allowed by this tolerance, so that speed can be maximized. Selecting G61 selects 'exact path mode'-- which means an absolute stop in each corner to ensure path following error is zero.

EMC calls this feature 'trajectory control' -- more information about it is here. [wiki.linuxcnc.org].

Implementing this feature in RAMPS firmware would have three huge benefits:
(1) accuracy can be easily specified, and you would know without muss or fuss that your machine will build it as fast as possible to that accuracy. This is a huge improvement over trial and error!
(2) overall print speed will be greatly improved, because the trajectory planner will only slow down when it has to-- not when it doesnt. So 'just go slowly in the perimeter' becaomes 'just go slowly when i cannot hold to the path within the specified tolerance without slowing down