Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Mirror Imaged Printsad smiley

Posted by heli_madken 
Mirror Imaged Printsad smiley
July 07, 2017 07:26AM
New to this forum so big hello!

Wonder if you could help me, for fun I have designed and built my own 3D printer using a Ramps 1.4, latest Marlin firmware and Repetier host. I am relatively new to Marlin. The printer has the bed moving in the X direction and the extruder moves along Y

Everything went together exceptionally well with few issues and my first calibration prints were great in terms of quality and speed.

So on to my first real print which is the arm for a spool holder I designed.

Again everything appeared to go well until I realised the print was a mirror image of the part. Mirroring the object in Repetier before printing gives me a perfect part.

So I guess both X and Y axis are reversed so tried both inverting the motors in firmware (eg. INVERT_X_DIR) and by swapping over the connection.

Either way I have a problem in that homing ceases to work, currently it works seamlessly.

Changing the direction of the motor simply sends it in the opposite direction to the endstop switch

Changing - #define X_MIN_ENDSTOP_INVERTING false // set to true to invert the logic of the endstop. to 'True' makes the motor move a few mm and stop, I am guessing this simply changes COM to signal and NC to ground

Changing - #define X_HOME_DIR -1 to 1 I get an error message that wants me to un-comment - #define USE_XMAX_PLUG and then I guess it is looking for a signal interrupt on this board connection so it doesn't work..

This is how the relevant sections in configuration.h look at present -

#define USE_XMIN_PLUG
#define USE_YMIN_PLUG
#define USE_ZMIN_PLUG
//#define USE_XMAX_PLUG
//#define USE_YMAX_PLUG
//#define USE_ZMAX_PLUG

#define X_MIN_ENDSTOP_INVERTING false // set to true to invert the logic of the endstop.
#define Y_MIN_ENDSTOP_INVERTING false // set to true to invert the logic of the endstop.