Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Arduino Uno and Teacup firmware uploading and/or connection Problems

Posted by ajnordin 
Arduino Uno and Teacup firmware uploading and/or connection Problems
September 07, 2016 01:54PM
Hello,

I'm just going to lay it out: I am new to 3D printing. I am currently building a small 3D printer (by small I mean 33 cm^3 print area) mainly for learning purposes and to hopefully reuse the bulk of the electronics for a bigger and better 3D printer. I have built the bulk of the printer (X,Y,Z axes, electronics hooked up, etc), but I have yet to build/get an extruder, hot end, temperature sensor, endstops, etc... Anyways, I just want to get the main electronics and firmware figured out.

Background:
- Printer made from recycled CD/DVD drive laser sleds and stepper motors for each axis.
- Arduino Uno for the controller
- Easy Driver boards for the stepper motor drivers.

My problem is the firmware. I only know of two CNC firmwares that work with Arduino Uno: Teacup and GRBL. (I know that GRBL is mainly a CNC milling firmware, not 3D Printing).

When I run GRBL on my setup, I can move all the axes manually using a GRBL controller program on my HP Pavilion Laptop running windows 7, and I can even run gcode created using makercam to draw out basic shapes with a pen mounted to it. So GRBL sounds great, but I can't do 3D printing with it sad smiley