Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

ABL in Rich Cattell's Marlin versus Marlin RC 1.1

Posted by DjDemonD 
ABL in Rich Cattell's Marlin versus Marlin RC 1.1
November 24, 2015 10:39AM
I am not the only forum member to express an interest in having the same auto bed levelling/tramming/compensation method as used in Rich Cattell's marlin for Deltas applied to cartesian machines. By this I mean rather than implement a plane of best fit based on 3-9 probing points why not probe the bed in 25 places and generate a full height compensation grid and then apply this to z coordinates during print.

What would it take to do this ? I am not a programmer, but would happily contribute/test/do general dogsbody wok for someone willing to tackle this. I am presuming it would be a case of porting the code for ABL from Rich Cattells version over to Marlin 1.1 and in doing so create a new branch.