Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Help a Marlin Geek! smileys with beer

Posted by Thinkyhead 
Help a Marlin Geek! smileys with beer
July 19, 2015 05:48PM
Hey RepRappers!

I've been working as a volunteer Marlin developer for several months now, helping to move things forward, clean up issues, reduce code size, integrate new features, etc. My main role has been to oversee the code, implement and test new features, help others to bring in their contributions, and meet with other contributors and collaborators to decide what to focus on next. The Marlin project has regained a lot of vibrancy during my tenure thanks to the input and contributions of so many kind and talented people, and today the Marlin project is moving along really well. The next release, Version 1.1.0, will be the best yet, with many great improvements, which you can see listed on the Marlin Wiki. There are a few more coming along soon that I'm excited about.

• CoreXZ Support
  • More languages supported
  • G2/G3 Arcs support for Deltabot and SCARA
  • Improved automatic bed leveling (currently debugging)
  • Simplified (and shorter) Configuration files
  • Improved thermal protection algorithm
  • …and so much more

I want very much to continue focusing on coding Marlin Firmware and editing the Marlin Wiki full-time –at least a few hours each day– but obstacles are coming up in my path and I need the community's help to stay with it, otherwise I will be forced to turn my attention to other projects for a while.

As my public begging bowl, I've put up a page at GoFundMe: "Help a Marlin Geek" with various reward levels for any grateful souls who would like to help out.

I'm offering tokens – I will print a small object in PLA for donors at different levels, and I'm offering hours of 3D printer and firmware personal support, which includes OpenSCAD design, slicing, calibration, firmware configuration, and troubleshooting – anything RepRap-related, my time can be yours.