Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Marlin ErikZalm z axis motor problem (works with T3P3)

Posted by Loader009 
Marlin ErikZalm z axis motor problem (works with T3P3)
July 11, 2014 07:48AM
Hello,

I'm pretty new in this "3D printer scene", I've got my printer now for over 2 weeks.
I've build the 3D printer (Prusa i3) within one week and now I'm calibrating etc. since last sunday.

Long story short:
Everything is fine with Marlin from T3P3.
Not fine with Marlin from ErikZalm.
The Z axis have problems when moving fast. (If too fast, it doesn't move at all and gives noises.)
The configuration of the mechanical part is identical to T3P3 configuration.
I didn't change the configuration_adv on both (I was sure that it doesn't need any configuration).

To be some more precise (probably most important part):
HOMING_FEEDRATE {50*60, 50*60, 4*60, 0}

DEFAULT_AXIS_STEPS_PER_UNIT {80,80,4000,360}
DEFAULT_MAX_FEEDRATE {500, 500, 2, 25}
DEFAULT_MAX_ACCELERATION {180,180,20,200}

DEFAULT_ACCELERATION 60
DEFAULT_RETRACT_ACCELERATION 60

DEFAULT_XYJERK 20.0
DEFAULT_ZJERK 0.4
DEFAULT_EJERK 5.0
They are all the same on both builds. (Triple checked.)

I have a Sanguinololu 1.3a with ATMega 1284p at 16MHz and 4 Ice Blue Stepsticks.
Using NEMA17 Motors from Wantai. Also connected (and working) is a Panelolu2.
As of the Prusa i3 the Z axis uses 2 motors. Both are connected to the Z axis connector on the sanguinololu.
The motors have to be OK, since it's working with the T3P3 firmware.

I hope to get some help here, I don't know where I might get help if not here.
Re: Marlin ErikZalm z axis motor problem (works with T3P3)
July 12, 2014 05:56PM
Out of interest do you have EEPROM enabled within one version but disabled within the other? Sometimes the values stored in EEPROM can override those in the firmware.

DuetWifi.: advanced 3d printing electronics
July 12, 2014 06:19PM
EEPROM on both enabled. (I checked to be sure.)