Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Can You Help Me Flash My Mega2650/RAMPS With Repetier For PRUSA i3 Printer?

Posted by ENRKyle20 
Can You Help Me Flash My Mega2650/RAMPS With Repetier For PRUSA i3 Printer?
January 31, 2014 03:47PM
I am very very new to this all around. I am so happy this forum is here for help!.

I have my Prusa i3 rework 3d printer alsmost fully built (phisically) and I am now working on the electronics. I have a Arduino mega2650, a R.A.M.P.S 1.4 board, and 4 A4988 drivers.

I have been told that I need to change the firmware, is that correct?

I thought initally that I needed to use a spceial programmer or microUSB somehting or other, so I purchased THIS (Click To See Ebay Item
But I believe now that I can do this threw the USB port and Arduino IDE - Is that the case?

At any rate, I see there is many choices in firmware for a 3d printer - I choose Repetier as it seems to have many great features and a nice graphical user interface (LOVE that). Is that a proper choice? - If not, Any other recomendations?

So if that is a proper choice I understand I need to flash the firmware on the Arduino Mega (Do i do this with the ramps board installed or not?) and I need to install the host software on my PC (Windows 7).

Step one was to flash the board. The first time I did it It was just the MEGA and no RAMPS. I used Arduino IDE in Windows 7 64bit (I hear this can be problematic? Use Ubuntu Live?) - The HELP PAGE ON THE SITE was a but hard to follow. I have the following issues/questions:

1) I didnt know if I should use ArduinoAVR or ArduinoDUO folder - I believe AVR was the correct choice, that is what I went with.