Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Printer Doesn't Recognize Y Endstop State Change

Posted by Rubidium86 
Printer Doesn't Recognize Y Endstop State Change
May 29, 2013 10:53PM
Hello all...I am new to 3D printing and I have an issue I was hoping to get some advice on.

I have recently bought a Durbie Prusa Mendel kit from Romscraj. I am using a "Gen 6.d" control board, a modified marlin firmware from here: https://github.com/romscraj/Marlin, and pronterface. I have finally got my motors moving, but the y-enstop won't stop the y motor when it is depressed. The kit uses PCB mounted mechanical endstops. The endstop has an LED on it, which is lighting up properly when depressed. When I use the M119 "enstop status" function in pronterface, however, the other two endstops will change state as expected but the y endstop will not (i.e. returns "y_min:L" whether depressed or not).

I have tried the following troubleshooting:
* Put y-endstop and cable in the x-endstop's plug: the endstop stopped x axis movement as expected
* Put x-endstop and cable (which works correctly for the x axis) in y-endstop plug: depressing endstop would not stop y axis movement (in either direction).
* I fumbled around with a multimeter on the board: Only the middle of the four posts showed continuity between them, which is the same as what I read on the two functioning endstop connections.

Based on this, I can only conclude that there's either an issue with my control board (which I was not able to find w/ my limited understanding of electronics) or there's an issue with my firmware (again, which I wasn't able to recognize with my limited understanding of programming). Any advice?
Re: Printer Doesn't Recognize Y Endstop State Change
May 30, 2013 02:07PM
Does sound a bit like your board is playing up.
I have the same board so maybe post your config.h file and ill compare it to mine then at least you can discount that from the "investigation"