Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

High Temperature 3D Printer

Posted by peb90 
High Temperature 3D Printer
March 16, 2017 10:06AM
Hello, as my master thesis I'm planning on creating a 3D printer for bone. Where I am doing my thesis, they suggested that I needed a high temperature (200-400ºC) for the extrusion.
As I'm a newbie on this matter, I have some questions regarding the material of the mechanism so it doesn't fail or break with the high temperatures. The design has core XY axis on top and a Z, using a linear guide system for Z movement.
So I have some questions regarding the material resistance or any advice on how to avoid damaging anything by heat dissipation o absorption.

Are there any material recommendations for this heat? I've looking for systems which can handle high operating temperatures, but still there is no option for 400C.
Are there any mechanical joints which can absorb heat or dissipate through the structure (the electronics will be outside the heated chamber?
Is there anyway I can protect stepper motors for this high temperature, the ext motor?
Can the screw thread C7 handle the heat without a problem?
Are there any special cables for the electric configurarion for this temperature, which kind of cables provides the best stability.

Maybe this questions are too dumb, but I`m newbie in this matter si any help will be great!

Thanks,
Alfonso
Re: High Temperature 3D Printer
March 16, 2017 10:59AM
Alfonso,

I'm not an expert in 3d printer but should you explain why you need a high temperature print head? Are you printing metal? If you are printing metal you might want to consider using a Laser Sinter. Medical replacement organs has peaked my interest for a couple of years and I was thinking people might what to use peristaltic pump, so that they can match the genetics of the patient receiving the transplant.
March 16, 2017 03:55PM