Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Lead Screw usage for X and Y axes

Posted by tobben 
Re: Lead Screw usage for X and Y axes
January 13, 2016 02:29PM
Hello All,
I have built 2 lead screw based 3d printers each with a different set of lead screws offering different specs. While I am not a expert in lead screws I have had great success with my builds. When I get home from this job ( should be next month ) I will post more current video's / photos and over all details. I am much further along then I have been able to post or record. For now here is a run down on my builds and the lead screws specs I went with.

The first printer is a large format (12x12) printer based off of the Lautr3k designed by Skarab (Sébastien Mischler) and modified since for my build. His design was based on using the lead screws from
Trinitylabs. When trinitylabs went under. I tracked down the part number for the screws they used from PBC Linear. However they are not available to the common builder. When I contacted PBC I was told they will only sale that lead screw to large oem's now. Not to small company's or individuals.

I had the specs of the Trinitylabs lead screw in hand (12mm Dia 10 Start 25mm Lead 2.5mm pitch) Next I had to source a company who made this spec of lead screw and would sale it to us on a individual biases machined to our specs. It has taken a lot of leg work and phone calls but I was able to find replacements.

Igus part number PTGSG-12x25-R-ES
and
Thompson part number SRA10-12X2.5M

The problem with both of those options is cost! If you have a lathe and can turn down the ends to fit your printer your self the cost is not to bad, But like me if you need the screws to be a specific size with each end turned down precisely. The cost goes threw the roof. The second problem I had with those options above was unlike the TL / PBC units they did not come with or offer a anti-backlasnut.