Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Bowden conversion

Posted by Chrismolloy 
Bowden conversion
November 10, 2015 12:37AM
I am a newbie.
I have purchased a Geeetech pro c dual printer with mk8 extruders.
I think I want to convert it to a bowden style extruder set up to reduce the axis weight.
Will the mk8 unit support a bowden configuration?
I have read that I should buy a pair of good quality j-heads and ptfe bowden cables.
Just to understand, why could I not just remote the existing heater and nozzle using a bowden cable instead of a j-head?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/10/2015 12:37AM by Chrismolloy.
Re: Bowden conversion
November 10, 2015 03:27AM
You need a heatsink on the heat-barrier. Now your aluminum frame acts as a heatsink, but not with a Bowden tube.

Make sure you have a X-carrier suitable for dual J-heads ( or e3d-chimera etc..) before you disassemble your printer.
Maybe you have to print a new bracket or some holder for the steppers.

Then replace the heat-barrier with M6 push fit connectors suitable for 4mm PTFE tube.

Be warned that the so_called_MK8 extruder has not the best torque in the world, because of the big drive gear diameter.
A long Bowden tube will add friction which reduces nozzle pressure even more.

If I were in your shoes, I would print a pair of direct drive extruders suitable for the REAL MK8 drive gear.
It is hobbed and has a much smaller diameter= more torque and keep your dual MK8 extruder for spares. ( or sell it )
-Olaf

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/10/2015 03:29AM by o_lampe.
November 10, 2015 04:46AM
Thanks, appreciated.
Do you think this will improve speed and reduce wobble enough to make it worthwile?
November 11, 2015 11:09AM
I started with belt tensioners on my Prusa I3 build. Also sorted out the worst linear bearings.
That helped a lot too.
Actually I'm missing the good print quality I had before I changed to a Bowden setup.
Dual color printing is fun, but not such a big step forward.