Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

triangulation-free Winch system for 3D printer Z-axis movement

Posted by realthor 
triangulation-free Winch system for 3D printer Z-axis movement
May 12, 2015 08:08AM
Hi guys, I am pretty new to reprap forums so please bear with me. I can't apparently delete a post I've made in another thread. I think this post fits better in the mechanics category so I will also post it here. If i am breaking any laws on the forum please let me know. I hope I am notsmiling smiley

I've been posting for a while (and still do) on Nic Seward's ConceptForge about a Wally without the radial or linear Z and without a threaded rod or leadscrew. I know little is left but in many parts of the world these parts are difficult to find and there are other reasons as well. Over several posts I've come to an idea of a winch that would spool Spectra Line while lifting or descending the SCARA arm on the Z axis. You can read the why's and how's over in Ideas for the Next Wally thread.

The problem with winches is that they have triangulation errors that don't count for a normal winching job, but for 3D printing any triangulation would mean a cvasi-impredictible Z resolution as the spooled line drifts away from the vertical, creating an angle. This could potentially be calibrated in software with some trig functions but as long as I don't know how to modify the software, I tried to think of a mechanical solution.

Because this could eventually be 3D printed, a solution I came up with is a spur gear bar with a threaded profile embedded (or a threaded bolt with spur gear teeth cut along its axis), so that the whole thing can be rotated by a wormgear while also advancing through some nuts. I could afford all this complication in a 3D print and the end result is the spectra line will remain fixed on the vertical (to the anchoring point), while the line is spooled on the threads by the moving "spur-bolt".