Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Questions about Z axis drive

Posted by Bobby-S 
Questions about Z axis drive
February 19, 2015 04:33AM
I am new to this... I am building a printer of my own design. I probably should have just built a kit for my first 3D printer but that would be the easy way....

Anyway.. The design I am using has an X and Y carriage near the top of the printer and the print bed will lower for the Z axis... It is nearly completed and I have been doing some testing and ran into a problem. The X and Y axis appears that it will work as planned but I am having a problem with the Z axis...

The print bed is square and is supported by 3 vertical acme screws. 2 in the front corners and one centered in the rear.. There is also a couple of vertical rods for positioning at the rear corners. As long as the bed is level nothing binds and the acme screws turn with no binding. The rear screw is directly driven by a nema 23 stepper the 2 front screws are timed together and driven by a 2nd nema 23 stepper using a GT2 belt..
I am using a Arduino and Ramps 1.4 a A4988 wire to drive these two steppers in parallel.

With no weight on the print bed the z axis moves up and down as expected.. But even with the smallest weight the bed occasionally binds.. What appears to be happening is the steppers do not have enough torque to properly drive the two acme rods at the front of the bed. Once that happens the bed is no longer level and the bed binds up completely. I need to make changes to it but I haven't figured out what to do.

One thing I probably should do is redesign the Z axis drive belt system so that all three acme rods are timed together. But, one of the steppers I have won't drive 2 of the acme screws reliably so I doubt one stepper will drive all three.. I don't know if I can drive the 3 screws with two motors without having the two fight each other.