Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Heated Bed, How Flat?

Posted by DavidBraley 
Heated Bed, How Flat?
January 23, 2015 03:30PM
Hello, Sorry if this question has been asked before and if I'm asking in the wrong place. I spent some time trying to find an answer, but I must not be using the correct vocabulary in my search strings.

I'm building my first printer and I am wondering what people mean when they talk about the print bed being flat. I have been a precision machinist now for almost 40 years, and my understanding of the word flat needs more information I don't seem to be able to find.

I would like this machine to be accurate. But at the same time, I don't want to waste any time fighting to get a level of flatness that's just not needed for good print results. I also understand the need to compensate for changing temps.

So what does the 3D Printing Universe consider to be a flat print bed? +/- 0.0100" per foot? +/- 0.0010" per foot? +/- 0.0001" per foot?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Take care,

David
Re: Heated Bed, How Flat?
January 23, 2015 03:41PM
For best results, IMO you want the bed to be flat to within 0.05mm over its entire surface. Perhaps the easiest way is to use a plate of float glass.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
January 23, 2015 09:31PM
Thank you dc42 for the fast reply!

Maybe I should restate my question:

What percentage of layer thickness would be a good target for flatness? I'm guessing/imagining once the first half dozen or so layers get put down, things get better from there...

I've read on this forum and elsewhere that a 0.3mm layer thickness is considered the gold standard for a reprap home built machine. I've also read the marketing material created by commercial manufactures of 3D printers claiming 0.1mm for a layer thickness.