Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

power question

Posted by demongimp 
power question
June 20, 2014 02:08AM
Hello I'm new to the reprap 3d printing and getting close to installing the ramps board. My question is on the power is 12v hook to both terminals on the board? If not what are they. Also I have been reading about people using relays with the ramp and the heat bed. I did do a resistance test and I'm getting 1.1-1.2 on the bed. Any and all comments would be helpful..
Re: power question
June 20, 2014 03:51AM
You need 12v on the outer ramps socket for motors and hotend - the inner 12v is for the heat bed only. So you can test your machine for operations with just the outer plug connected. I would think your heatbed will be fine.

June 20, 2014 07:30AM
The RAMPS board allows you to power the printer from two different supplies. They don't have to be the same voltage. One supply, typically 12V, drives the board, electronics, and motors. The other is just for the printbed heater. The printbed heater side has a MOSFET switch and a thermal cutout (a varistor?) that will shut down power to the printbed if you try to drive too much current for the MOSFET switch (and/or PCB traces) to handle. When the thermal cutoff trips, you'll have to kill printbed power to reset it.

There is an LED on the RAMPS board that lights when power is being applied to the printbed heater. If the LED isn't lighting up the MOSFET isn't switching power to the printbed. If the light isn't working, try disconnecting the printbed and its power supply and check it again. If the LED starts working, you probably tripped the varistor. The printbed heater won't work if you don't have the printbed's thermistor connected to the RAMPS board (you'll get a MINTEMP error on the LCD display if you have one).