Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Circuit Scribe & 3D Printers

Posted by BlaiddDrwg 
Circuit Scribe & 3D Printers
December 10, 2013 07:51AM
Hi! I'm still new to 3D printers and am researching a kit to build and then work with my students to build one from scratch.

I came across Circuit Scribe on Kickstarter and thought it looked very nifty, especially for those of us just learning electronics/circuitry. I was wanted to see what others thought about the possible applications of this tool in 3D Printers.

[www.kickstarter.com]

(note: I am not an investor and have no financial gain from this, I'm just a teacher looking to inspire and engage my students).

Thanks!
Re: Circuit Scribe & 3D Printers
December 11, 2013 02:08AM
I would just go ahead and build a printer - you will have plenty to learn as it is!

May 15, 2014 02:59PM
Don't forget that you can also do that with any old graphite pencil too.

Through self sustaining actions comes freedom

DIY Tech Shop
Re: Circuit Scribe & 3D Printers
May 16, 2014 06:47AM
BlaiddDrwg
I came across Circuit Scribe on Kickstarter and thought it looked very nifty, especially for those of us just learning electronics/circuitry. I was wanted to see what others thought about the possible applications of this tool in 3D Printers.

It's certainly a nice thing. I don't see much connection to a 3D printer, though:

- Many parts of printing controllers, like stepper motor controllers and heaters, need more than neglibile currents. I assume these can't be done with such a pen.

- All integrated parts like stepper motor controllers, CPU, etc. need a breakout board anyways.

As such it's more an experimental way to assemble electronics than to completely build one.