Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New rotating multi extruder concept, no X or Y offset. Let me know what you think.

Posted by Fetish 
New rotating multi extruder concept, no X or Y offset. Let me know what you think.
August 12, 2013 05:08PM
I've been an amateur product designer for a while now and while working on one of my pet projects, I went browsing for a new 3D printer (I have 2 now but a 3rd wont hurt riiight? tongue sticking out smiley ).. Anyway one thing let to another and I had this idea to potentially squeeze 3-7 nozzles into a small package with only 2 motors used.

Oops I need to state that the 2nd diagram is a top-down view

(another short writeup on my blog)

So what do you guys think of this design?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/12/2013 05:46PM by Fetish.
Oh come on, at least tell me my drawings suck or something? sad smiley
Re: New rotating multi extruder concept, no X or Y offset. Let me know what you think.
August 26, 2013 10:31PM
How with only TWO motors?
Don't you need an extruder feed motor for each filament handled?
Are you just showing hotends and this is a Bowden 5 shooter?
How are you switching from extruder to extruder --- hotend power --- extruder power? Hot end heat up?
If you keep all HOT how do you prevent drooling?

Old style pen plotter used 6 pens in rotating mount I think it used a solenoid to click pen into write position?

??????
I think my drawings must have *really* sucked. LOL

I made a fast model on sketchup, hope I can get the idea across more clearly now.

This is just a concept at the moment. Of course there's still the filament cooling issues etc that have to be ironed out...

But it'll be cool if some guru here can make this into something real or even take it to the next level. grinning smiley

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/27/2013 02:21AM by Fetish.
Re: New rotating multi extruder concept, no X or Y offset. Let me know what you think.
September 10, 2013 03:52PM