Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Granule extruder/filament maker - some new thoughts

Posted by Anonymous User 
Anonymous User
Granule extruder/filament maker - some new thoughts
April 04, 2009 09:18PM
An introductory note: as it turns out, I'm currently building a RepRap as an official university project, with funding and all. It will be used primarily to build monolithic shells for minisumo-class robots, as a light, durable and cheap replacement for laser-cut aluminum, but other uses are surely going to emerge. One of the first things I thought of was contacting and engaging some fellow students from other fields, especially those related to polymer chemistry and polymer processing technology (I'm studying industrial automation and robotics), and maybe even get some research staff interested in the project. Now, it looks like that was a good idea.

Last friday, I discussed the granule hopper design with the members of one of the students' science clubs that deals with polymer processing. They pointed out all the flaws they could find in the devices tested by RepRap users and concluded that correcting them should produce a working, reliable device. I was able to take a close look at a few commercial injection moulding and continous extrusion machines, too, including a disassembled one.

The most important conclusion is that, while making a tabletop (read: the size of a RepRap or somewhat smaller), stationary extruder to produce a continuous filament suppy is definitely possible, fitting such a thing directly on a RepRap is out of question for all sensible intents and purposes and should not be attempted if the goal is having an efficient, practical rapid prototyping setup, and not doing something useless and overly complicated just for the heck of it.

The specifics, in no particular order, are: