Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Beaded chain drive gears

Posted by cpwebste 
Beaded chain drive gears
March 05, 2009 06:33PM
So I am in the process of building a repstrap using mostly stuff you can find at your local hardware store. I am also a college student, so anywhere I can save cash is a major plus. I have decided to try out a beaded chain in place of a $30 belt from rrrf (the 12 foot chain was $4). It looks like it will work great as you can pry open on of the individual balls to splice a chain into together, but I am having one major problem; gears. I can not for the life of me find any suitable item to use as a drive gear for my z axis studding posts. Can anyone throw out some ideas to easily make a gear that will grip these beaded chains?

For reference the chain consists of 1/8" balls seperated by a tiny connecting post. They are the same things used to open and close blinds, for a pull chain on some high hanging lights, and even in bath tubs to pull the stopper out.

Someone please save me as this is the major thing keeping my progress on hold! Thanks in advance!
Re: Beaded chain drive gears
March 05, 2009 08:29PM
I'd be tempted to find or cut a plastic circle, then heat up the chain in a flame and wrap it around the disc. With luck this should melt little holes around the edge. You could also set up a jig to drill tiny holes around the edge of said disc to achieve the same effect. Both are fiddly though. You could always try and salvage sprockets from discarded blinds if you knew somewhere that would let you dig through rubbish. If all elses fails, bike chain
is a cheap, easy solution (~£8 for sprockets and chain for z axis)e
VDX
March 06, 2009 06:40AM
... look at the atached photos here: [forums.reprap.org]

Maybe this could help ...

Viktor
March 06, 2009 10:07AM