Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

idea for DIY laminated (lom) ceramic insulator

Posted by unfold 
idea for DIY laminated (lom) ceramic insulator
February 07, 2009 01:08PM
Hi,

While reading thru all the search results on "ceramic" for my ceramic reprap project I was thinking about a method for producing an insulator with laminated object manufacturing.
To be honest, I have no real idea what this insulator would need to look like since I am new here, do not own a reprap yet and I am a bit to lazy to dig true all the documentation to search for the part although I did for 15 min. smiling smiley
But here's the idea, I have some experience with a ceramic green sheet material called Keralfex [kerafol.de]〈=en
You can cut and shape this material by hand in a very easy manner and they also supply a slurry to glue various components together. It is available in 0.5 and 1mm thick sheets (before firing). After firing (and it stinks big time) you get a solid porcelain object. If the insulator is a tube form you could just roll a sheet with slurry in between the layers. But when it is a slightly more complex shape you could build up the object from hand cut profiles laminated together. Due to the shrinkage when firing it is important to know the tolerance of the part, a very precise and fitting part is definitely harder to make.
I have all of the material available here in the studio to do some tests, is this an idea worth trying? If positive, can somebody point me to the specifications for an insulator (stl file?) and I'll give a try at it. I can send the finished part to anyone who wants to test.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/07/2009 01:33PM by unfold.
Re: idea for DIY laminated (lom) ceramic insulator
February 07, 2009 01:48PM
added some photos of keraflex.

One shows various tests done at FabLab with the Epilog laser, both cutting and engraving. This is pre-baking aka green state on top of a alumina firing plate.