Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Raspberry pi based scanner.

Posted by GRAYWOLF 
Raspberry pi based scanner.
October 17, 2016 12:41AM
I have a few question concerning raspberry pi based 3d scanners and I'm not sure where to ask.

Q1 - How far from the camera can the turntable be?
Q2 - Does the Pi Zero run the software?
Q3 - Does the new camera result in better scans?
Q4 - Does the new Pi3 result in better scans?
Re: Raspberry pi based scanner.
October 17, 2016 03:07AM
What raspberry pi based 3d scanners are there? You ask like there is loads of scanners out there. I am still looking for one to buy.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/17/2016 03:08AM by audiobull.
November 25, 2016 03:13PM
audiobull
I am still looking for one to buy.

I believe these are DIY questions, not ready made.

I'm no engineer but I'll take a stab as no one else has, fwiw.

For reference, this was the one I was looking at for simple project. [www.instructables.com]

Q1) Idk, but I'd guess it would be a function of the Webcam (it's ability to sense tiny deviations) and distance needed to achieve required angles. From the instructable: "The only constraint is to have the camera seeing the whole table."

Q2) PiZero is effectively a ?Pi2? ... Just without all the extra hardware, so yes, the OS and programs will be stored on the MicroSD card. In analogy to a 3d printer (i.e. Prusa) the Nano is the Mega, b/c less motor requirements needed allow smaller microcontroller. TL;DR: Nano = uC, RpiZero = PC, StepperMotorController = RAMPS board ... Connecting to the PiZero is the challenge. As it went with Micro everything for hardware (USB, HDMI, SDcard). So many people use a 'headless' setup (ssh through: wifi or usb)