Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

choosing a laser cutter

Posted by wellstorm 
choosing a laser cutter
May 17, 2015 08:46AM
Hello, little help required please....

I am an artist of sorts and i want to use laser printing to take my art to the next level. I can see me printing on wood and acrylic primarily and i need the images to look well defined and detailed. Martin tomsky and spacewolf are the best examples of the standard I'd like to get to.

At this stage i intend to start out with prints possibly around 3ft x 2ft, but this will be dictated by cost. I also want the ability to cut through materials to multi-layer images. What wattage will i need / be best with? Ideally, from a cost perspective, 60watt is as high as i would like to go. And is a certain level of detail in the image dictated by the quality of the machine or is this down to the image settings?

Thanks in advance.

Wellstorm
VDX
Re: choosing a laser cutter
May 17, 2015 10:49AM
Hi Wellstorm,

(clear) acrylic binds/limits you to a CO2-lasercutter/engraver.

There are cheap chinese 40W-machines with 300x200mm working range around for below USD1000, but for bigger working areas and better quality you'll better count for USD 2000 to 4000. Look at ebay for "CO2 lasercutter" ...

The finest details are set by the spot diameter, what's in the range of 0.2mm to 0.05mm, depending on beam and optics quality.

Speed and positional resolution/accuracy depends mostly on software ...

Viktor
--------
Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - [reprap.org] -- Deutsche Facebook-Gruppe - [www.facebook.com]

Call for the project "garbage-free seas" - [reprap.org]
May 17, 2015 09:45PM
Looking at Martin tomsky and spacewolf work
and
2 x 3 ft
About $100,000
for a big work surface
and a controllable powerful laser.

Look at
[www.epiloglaser.com]

wellstorm
Hello, little help required please....