Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Power supply and circuit boards?

Posted by mapexmbirch 
Power supply and circuit boards?
August 31, 2011 02:09PM
Hi, I am kinda new to Reprap. Been researching it for the past month or so and bought a partly build one yesterday, just waiting for it in the post now. cool smiley
One question I have about the power supply that I can't seem to find anywhere.
The electronics all take like 5v - 12v at about 10 or less amps. I have seen that a ATX supply is recommend but these run at about 300 - 600 Watts.
Since W = V*A that would make the 300w supply give 25A at 12 volts! Or is this just the maximum that the supply can supply. Will the circuit board draw the current it needs.

Another question, which circuit board is best? The one I have bought has Gen 3 but there is something wrong with it and the seller doesn't have time to find out what has gone wrong with it. I was thinking about getting this one from ebay is it any good? looks all right but am I right in saying it is Gen 6? and there is a Gen 7 out but I can't find it on ebay or on any other website. Is it only available for building it yourself? Because I don't trust my soldering skills.

Thanks
Re: Power supply and circuit boards?
August 31, 2011 10:39PM
mapexmbirch Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Hi, I am kinda new to Reprap. Been researching it
> for the past month or so and bought a partly build
> one yesterday, just waiting for it in the post
> now. cool smiley
> One question I have about the power supply that I
> can't seem to find anywhere.
> The electronics all take like 5v - 12v at about 10
> or less amps. I have seen that a ATX supply is
> recommend but these run at about 300 - 600 Watts.
> Since W = V*A that would make the 300w supply give
> 25A at 12 volts! Or is this just the maximum that
> the supply can supply. Will the circuit board draw
> the current it needs.