Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Clarification on Gen3 Opto mod?

Posted by mercercg 
Clarification on Gen3 Opto mod?
August 10, 2011 03:51AM
First off I'm currently working on modding and collecting all those loose electronics for a Gen 3 Mendel; I broke down and got the Gen 3 kit (motherboard V1.2, 3X Stepper Drivers V2.3 and the Extruder Control V2.2) I need to produce 6 Endstops on my own (as well as figure out what other random cables and bit I haven't realized I need yet -____-)

I am a student with very little money to spare on the smaller pre-made boards and such; BUT I do have access to tons of electronic components for free. My understanding of circuits is pretty basic, but given a schematic I can usually make do. I've just hit a bit of a wall.

My school doesn't have the 5-Pinned H21LOB switches in stock but is does have the 4-Pinned TCST2103 Optoswitch!
If I had the premade PCB it would be simple, snip here and connect there. I just cant QUITE seem to figure out exactly where those to cuts would be correlated on the Schematic so I can strip board them.

If someone with a little more know how could employ a little paint magic and alter it for me I would be extremely thankful.

Re: Clarification on Gen3 Opto mod?
August 10, 2011 05:19PM
Why not go for mechanical endstops? They are much cheaper and more reliable, in my experience. Also, you really don't need more than 3 endstops for one system, to use them for homing (MIN-endstops). You could even run without endstops if you so please, although the Z axis is a bit of a pain to home manually.

If you still really want to use opto endstops, I have six techzone endstops laying around after changing them for mechanical, and I could sell them to you dirt cheap. winking smiley

--
-Nudel
Blog with RepRap Comic
August 11, 2011 02:28AM
Generation 7 Electronics Endstops are compatible to Gen3, if you watch out for the different pin layouts on the connectors.