Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Re-ARM from Panucatt

Posted by .Jata 
Re: Re-ARM from Panucatt
February 18, 2017 02:57AM
I'm no smoothie expert, but the problems with z-endstop and z-probe being the same might start with z-offset calculation later. You might see the nozzle print in mid air at the same height your probe-offset is set to. Lucky, when you use one of the rare non_offset z-probes.
February 18, 2017 03:40AM
I am having issues with inconsistent nozzle to bed gap. However it's inconsistent using the piezo probe (no probe offsets) as the z min endstop, and when I use the z max endstop to home and keep the piezo probe as dedicated probe. I am using grid levelling.

Simon Khoury

Co-founder of [www.precisionpiezo.co.uk] Accurate, repeatable, versatile Z-Probes
Published:Inventions
February 18, 2017 06:42AM
Very briefly looking at the endstop code in smoothie, looks like the compensation is disabled, then it does the homing, then re-enable compensation when its finished. I guess that could be an issue when homing to min which sets z=0, then it applies some compensation +/- value in Z for that XY point, which could be the reason?

Perhaps if you home to min as you already have, then move up say 5mm or so and then run a "G30 Z0" (probe until hit and also set to z=0) would solve the inconsistency? As it would be setting the machine z=0 after the compensation is applied.
February 18, 2017 06:52AM
I will try that, that seems like a sound idea. Clearly something like this is happening. The machine I am using is by no means mechanically perfect but yesterday I was getting 1 print in 10 to stick with ABS which is a PITA.

Okay so thats quite promising, if I do
G28 X
G28 Y
G1 X135 Y100 (middle of my 270x200 bed)
G28 Z
M220 S60 ; slow down to avoid false triggers
G31
M220 S100
G1 x135 Y100
G30 Z0
G1 Z5

Then I can move around the bed, I can hear the z motor clicking a few steps here as I move around, now all G30 probes at any point return 5mm +/- 0.01mm.