Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Is there a way to change MOSFETs on a MKS Base V1.3?

Posted by 2_jammer 
Is there a way to change MOSFETs on a MKS Base V1.3?
December 05, 2015 12:27PM
Hello all-

I am new to 3d printing and I'm having a problem with a printer that I recently purchased that I need help with. In a nut shell, when my printer is powered up, the hot end starts to heat up without being commanded. I was told that the MOSFET could be defective. Unfortunately, I don't have the facilities to replace it. I do see however that it appears that this board is set up for dual extruders. Is there a way to switch off the offending MOSFET and switch on the other one? If it has to be done in the firmware then I'm really in a bad spot because I have zero support from the company I purchased this from so I'm going at this alone. I have included a pic of the motherboard for your reference.
Attachments:
open | download - MKS-BASE-V1-3.jpg (79 KB)
Re: Is there a way to change MOSFETs on a MKS Base V1.3?
December 06, 2015 03:04AM
If your firmware is set to the correct board then yes the mosfet is dead

but no you cant turn it off... It will always be on.

When the software is set to off, its on
when its set to on its still on.

There is no magic, I really did mean off mode...

But

Looking at the board the legs going to the mosfet are up from the board a little so you could cut both legs with a some snips to disable it.

Then you could play with the pins.h of your firmware and change it to use another mosfet.
December 06, 2015 06:39AM
I would insist on a replacement board. It was dead on arrival, so contact your dealer and/or open a claim in aliexpress or where ever.
If the vendor doesn't react, make a complain at MakerBase, so this vendor is probably banned by MakerBase.
-Olaf
December 10, 2015 08:03AM
Unfortunately, I purchased it on Amazon. I have emailed the vendor several times without a response, so I left negative feedback.