Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Duet- in setup, it worked last night...

Posted by Epop 
Duet- in setup, it worked last night...
April 25, 2015 12:50AM
I'm new to additive mfg. and most of my experience is trying to get an expensive 3-extruder printer working using 'free samples' provided with the printer- wasn't working. I'm spiteful, going to get something other than more gray hairs from it. I know a little about electronics(taken a lot of stuff apart at least) and am a machinist.

Attempting to convert to Duet+x4, bought it in Feb. but seems like I got an 'old' model. (just fyi)
So I got around to wiring most of it last night- using 'used' wiring, dont have any on hand to do it right. I got as far as had firmware compiled/installed etc. used Arduino serial monitor and pronterface, both connected & communicated just fine (usb only, power supply hadn't been plugged in... M105, and M503- pronterface status all worked for what was plugged in & the webpage responded but immediately timed out).

Today I got off work and get to finishing up wiring endstops, plug in the steppers, & E0... plug it back in to USB to do actual testing beyond 'it communicates' and... nothing... plug in the usb, lights on, PC detects arduino device just fine, will not communicate at all. After trying/rebooting, changing baud, reinstalling drivers etc... still nothing. I switched the jumper and fired up a modified ATX PS. nothing more other than lots of blinking lights... nothing moved, still no comms.

-_-

any ideas what I can try or how I might have blown it?

Thanks...
Re: Duet- in setup, it worked last night...
April 25, 2015 05:13AM
Have you tried following the commissioning instructions here [reprappro.com] ? You may also find my notes on upgrading a Mini Kossel to Duet electronics here [miscsolutions.wordpress.com] useful. Did you update the firmware?