Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Basic Electronics Textbooks?

Posted by jgilmore 
Basic Electronics Textbooks?
May 17, 2010 06:35PM
I'm looking at teaching a class this fall in basic electrical theory. This class is aimed at 12-16yr-old kids, and I intend to cover Ohm's law, Thevenin equivalent circuits, etc. No Capacitance/inductance. Basicly I'm planning on covering theory & safety, Hitting Ohm's law hard, and how to use a multimeter. Give them some resistors, LED's and light bulbs to play with, and have fun with it. 8 2-hour classes, with ~2 hours homework assigned.

Now, I'm a union electrician, and so I looked up the books that I learned out of, but it's $98 for the NJATC DC Theory textbook, + $10 for the workbook. That's a little pricey for 12yr olds. The cost of the course will be ~$40 for my time, plus ~$10-$30 for lab materials and the textbook would bump the price to ~$160.

So I started looking for cheaper or even free textbooks. I mean, this information has been around for at least the last hundred years or so, there MUST be something worthwhile out there...

But I have yet to find anything I really like.

It must cover:
1. E=IR and P=IE.
2. parallel and series etc calculations.
3. generators/alternators.
4. cover electrical safety and how to use and read a multimeter.
5. NOT involve calculus or systems of equations. Basic algebra only, remember the audience.

Preferably it:
1. Includes exercises and problems which I can assign as homework.
2. Is available free online.
3. Is available cheap printed for reference during class. (<$30)

Frankly, I really enjoyed the course I took, and comparisons to the NJATC textbook may be prejudicing my judgement here.

Things I found:
Wikibooks Contains calculus and systems of equations, no good. Doesn't have exercises.
All About Circuits Which I like, but no paper copies are available. Exercises exist.
Play Hookey Is a bit eclectic, doesn't have paper copy available or any exercises.