Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Marlin + RAMPS 1.4, spinning motors?

Posted by clotifoth 
Marlin + RAMPS 1.4, spinning motors?
July 14, 2014 02:31PM
Hello! I am very new to RepRap and am trying to implement the Marlin 1.0 firmware in a personal project which mimics a 3D printer, except that it uses an airbrush to make art. I have a Sainsmart RAMPS 1.4 board atop a Mega 2560, with a single stepper driver plugged into the X axis. As I will not be using an extruder nor a heatbed I have neither plugged in. Additionally I have a Smart LCD Controller (with rotary encoder). The latter works correctly.

However, when I attempt to move the the motor that is plugged in, with stepper motor plugged in, nothing happens- the motor doesn't act at all. Additionally, a thermistor reading on the LCD controller is coming up as 498-500 degrees despite the fact that nothing is plugged in there (as my project will not need it.) Can anyone lend a bit of advice as to how to get at least as far as the "spinning motors" stage? Thanks in advance =)
Re: Marlin + RAMPS 1.4, spinning motors?
July 14, 2014 02:53PM
If you have nothing plugged in the thermistors connector, the firmware "reads" a very unusual temperature and throws an error and stops working. Put the thermistors there and it will read room temperature, or put a resistor like 100k to 10k in its place so it will "read" some temperature at which it will work.
July 14, 2014 02:54PM
Two threads down its the same issue smiling smiley
July 14, 2014 03:22PM
NoobMan
If you have nothing plugged in the thermistors connector, the firmware "reads" a very unusual temperature and throws an error and stops working. Put the thermistors there and it will read room temperature, or put a resistor like 100k to 10k in its place so it will "read" some temperature at which it will work.

Thanks so much for your help! Which pins are the thermistors (resistors in this case!) to be plugged into?
July 15, 2014 03:48PM