Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Stepper motors vibration with RUMBA

Posted by dolphinboy 
Stepper motors vibration with RUMBA
February 21, 2014 08:03AM
Hello,

I'm using Nema 17 (SY42STH47-1684A) steppers, A4988 drivers with 16 microstepping on my Delta 3DR build. When steppers move or they are not moving but "loaded" they vibrate and transmit it to the extruder so all my printed parts have not full linear and regular walls.
I think it's a problem with my setup but I can't find why... I have a RUMBA board with jumpers to select the microstepping mode, I have all of them inserted as I read this is the correct setup for 16 microstepping. I also have tweaked the drivers pot to 0,15V because the stepper motors are less noisy that way and because, if not (0,5V as people suggests), they are too noisy compared with other Reprap printers I own and because I think they are not operating fine at all (probably because the vibration origin).

Do you know what I'm doing wrong? do you know from where this vibration is produced? is there any other configuration I should add to the RUMBA board to configure it correctly with Nema 17 and A4988?
Thanks
Re: Stepper motors vibration with RUMBA
February 21, 2014 05:57PM
I've sometimes found motors vibrate when one of the coils is back to front.

eg: Say your wires are the following:

Red, Green, Blue, Yellow.

You may find that switching the Red/Green may improve things, or switching the Blue/Yellow.

Note: This will switch the direction the motors spin, so you need to compensate for that in firmware.

If it's not that, then it looks like you might have some bad motors. I've also had similar things happen if the motor shaft bearings get damaged (eg: the motor gets accidentally dropped on the drive shaft, if you've put a flat on the shaft yourself and not protected the bearings from metal dust, etc), where it then runs quite rough and vibrates.