Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Xmega based design?

Posted by kscharf 
Xmega based design?
February 10, 2014 09:12AM
I'm just starting out building my first printer. I plan on using a RAMPS board as I put together my own Arduio 2560 mega board using a bare board off ebay and some samples from Atmel.
Now I'm wondering about porting the firmware to the xmega processors which can be run at twice the speed (or a bit more overclocked). The atxmega128A1U has built in USB (but since the
LUFA library may not be fully operation with xmega yet, I'd have to use Atmel's own usb libraries). Certainly this is a "for later" idea as I want to get my printer running first, but is anybody interrested
in this? The xmega 100 pin devices can be expanded to over a megabyte of static ram off chip which would allow for a large 'look ahead' buffer.
Re: Xmega based design?
February 10, 2014 04:27PM
If the built in USB is using LUFA, IMO it's most likely emulated USB.

This means it'll be using much of that extra speed to talk to the PC, rather than running the machine. If you only intend to use the machine stand-alone (dump a file over USB, then disconnect) that would make sense. Otherwise a lot of your extra horsepower is just not going to get used for what you want.

Note: I've seen slower processors with on-chip USB (Leonardo-based design) trying to run movement on a Cartesian 2 axis bot, and the stuttering at the start of any action as they tried to do USB and even slow movement was not nice.

If you're making yourself a prototype, I'd look at making sure there is a serial port header exposed somewhere you can fall back on (using an external USB serial cable eg: FT232) if you intend to drive it a lot using USB.
February 11, 2014 02:54AM
You cant put a ramps on a xmega, Ramps is designed for 5v, xmega is 3.3volt

This is why ramps-fd was developed, for the 3.3v Due.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/11/2014 02:58AM by Dust.
February 26, 2014 04:39PM