Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

One RepRap Motherboard, Multiple RepRaps?

Posted by Christopher 
Maybe this has been asked, a quick search didn't provide much, but being new to the RepRap process, I was thinking. How many I/O's are being used? And would it be possible to theoretically control more than one RepRap Cartesian bot with one RepRap motherboard? Or is that level of multitasking too complicated for the ATMega?

Also, has anyone looked into the Illuminator X Machina as a potential controller for the RepRap?

The idea being, say you can't fork over enough time/money/blah for more than one controller, but you can manage to build a couple Bots? You could then make/sell/give away more parts at twice the speed to help fund additional projects.

But again, I'm still rather new to the RepRap movement, (and microcontroller programming in general). I understand that a potential stepper controller might be an issue, and so forth.

Anyway, that's just my idea for now.
Re: One RepRap Motherboard, Multiple RepRaps?
September 24, 2009 05:17AM
This reminds me of the early 80s and the Inmos transputer arrays connected ~ back then they were 20-30MIPS each device
Here is a link. This looks like a nice idea to play with however the pricing is not so good for RepRap users at the moment.

I will have to find the original Inmos peliminary data book now.

On my Nascom 1 I used an Inmos high speed colour palete chip retrofitted to Pluto graphics card with stacked dRam (dram solderd ontop of Dram to add 4 additional colour planes) the data pins bent up and solderd with vero wire to the unused data lines. I disasembled the Pluto 8086 code in Eprom and removed all the xor and and functions to strip the upper four bits of the drwaing functions re-programed the Eprom to get an 8 Plane graphics card with 256 diffrent colours per graphics line.

Is technology becoming a little like fashion where designs are revived every 30 years or so..? smiling bouncing smiley