Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Feasibility of diy PCBs?

Posted by acediac 
Feasibility of diy PCBs?
September 11, 2009 12:38PM
Hi all,

I'm really fascinated with the reprap project and am keen to give it a go, but I'd like a bit of advice if you experienced builders can share. Some of my questions may seem very basic and obvious but please bear with me, remember everyone had to start somewhere.

I want to tackle the electronics first, specifically building the motherboard and a stepper driver, and connecting up a couple of steppers I got from old printers. The thing is, the pcbs are out of stock and I'm wondering if it's really feasible to build my own.

I've got very basic skills and knowledge, but am treating this as a learning exercise.

I'm new to photoresist etching, but done a bit of research, and am pretty comfortable with the copper trace printing, UV exposing, developing and etching process.
Double sided pcb means I'd have to get it to line up very well, but I've found a technique that will probably work.

I'm willing to get the 0.8, 1.0 and 3.0 mm carbide drills. Don't have a drill press, but hoping that the dremel with steady hands won't break too many drill bits.

Now comes the problem: I've printed the motherboard 1.2 and stepper 2.3 traces out, and there are quite a few vias that are pretty much 0.7mm holes. Let's assume I line the two sides up well enough. From what I read, on professional boards they might use a tiny copper through tube, but I can't see a handmade board having that, so do I just put a dollop of solder in each via hole?