Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Minitronics v1.0 Review

Posted by PvtDBJackson 
Minitronics v1.0 Review
June 18, 2013 01:54PM
This is my review of the Minitronics v1.0 board from RepRapWorld.com [reprapworld.com]

First, a little about myseld, to preface my review and establish my experience (or lack thereof) in RepRap. I am a Mechanical Engineer. I was introduced to RepRap by my brother (a Plastics Engineer) who was given a Prusa Mendel by a freind of his. I've had some experience printing on his machine, but neither of us has ever built/tuned/calibrated a RepRap before. I decided to build my own MendelMax 1.5 because I like the mechanical aspects of 3D printing. In university, I had a few electronics classes as part of my degree; enough to realize I don't like dealing with electronics.

So when I was planning my MendelMax build, I wanted a simple/easy electronics solution. A no-frills, plug and play solution. I stumbled across the new Minitronics v1.0 board and from the literature provided, it seemed to be exactly what I was looking for.

I am located in the US while RepRapWorld is based in the Netherlands. That said, shipping only took about 1 week to reach me.

Setting up the board was really easy. All of the connections for the stepper motors, thermistors, and end stops are standard board-to-wire connections. All are clearly labeled on the board. It couldn't be easier. The hot end and heated bed connect via a screw terminal. The heated bed connection has a large MOSFET controlling it, to handle the higher amperage. These are two important features that my brother's Sanguinololu board lack, and are known issues. He has a heat sink rigged to the MOSFET and the heated bed connection once melted from carrying too many amps through too small of a wire.