Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

DigiX - The Ultimate Arduino Compatible Development Board

Posted by gargon 
DigiX - The Ultimate Arduino Compatible Development Board
June 09, 2013 04:24AM
I am new to the reprap community, I have been researching building one for a little while now and have been spending some time chatting on IRC for ideas. I came across a kickstarter project that some of you may be interested in. I want to contribute, but I am not currently knowledgeable enough to be able to work the firmware, shield/stepper driver, and other issues associated with untested technology. I particularly like the WiFi embedded on the board and some of the extras built in, but maybe its overkill for a reprap? I want to pose it to the community and see what discussion this board brings up, if a few others commit to buying and take the lead on pioneering a setup for this board I would like to follow along, otherwise I will probably chalk it up to something cool that costs more than I need to spend and move on with a cheaper solution smiling smiley.

DigiX
Re: DigiX - The Ultimate Arduino Compatible Development Board
June 10, 2013 06:49PM
As I hoped, the Arduino Due is opening a bunch of ARM based boards. DigiX at $59 isn't bad compared to Due, but there is also Taijiuino [www.elechouse.com] which is $36. It would have been great if the Due had onboard Ethernet, the Taiji has ethernet on an adaptor but prevents shields being plugged in.

The new ARM SOCs coming out of China are pretty amazing, driving the cost down and features up. There will be a 1GHz board for $40 soon, if not already. Unfortunately for various reasons it takes the software a while catch up.
June 13, 2013 11:50PM