Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Why only stepstick and pololu stepper driver?

Posted by victorjung 
Why only stepstick and pololu stepper driver?
May 20, 2013 09:41AM
I, i am new to reprap, and i am thinking about building my own. so i read a lot of wiki pages, but something is disturbing me...
Why everyboards are always made to be used with stepstick and pololu stepper drivers? they are expensive (my opinion) and hardly drive 2A current...
Why was l298 abandoned (stepper motor driver 1.2) ? i just saw that some people are doing attempt with TB6560 it seems interresting... why are there so few solutions?
Victor jung
Re: Why only stepstick and pololu stepper driver?
May 20, 2013 10:42AM
We only need about 1A and without micro stepping reprap machines are very noisy. I don't know if there are an cheaper microstepping drivers than a stepstick.

[www.hydraraptor.blogspot.com]
May 20, 2013 11:18AM
TB6560 has a much big footprint, not SMD friendly, yet it can only drive 3A.
When you need more than 2.5A that A3977 suoports, most likely you need a much bigger one instead of #A.

TB6560 also need a big heatsink to drive at 3A contiuously, in this sense it has no difference from A3977.
May 20, 2013 11:21AM
L297/298 has no microstepping, and much much bigger footprint and needs even more passive component, not SMD friendly.
May 20, 2013 11:31AM
I think the biggest reason is resolution. Without microstepping you are looking at 5 to 10 steps per mm in X and Y which is just barely adequate. With microstepping the picture is much better. Add in the noise, and it's a pretty easy decision to use microstepping drivers.
May 20, 2013 11:53AM
thanks for your answers, the thing i find that smd isn't diy friendly, that's why i like big footprint!
May 20, 2013 11:54AM
That and cost are the reasons for Sanguish.
May 20, 2013 12:39PM