Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Help with bootloader (Gen6 + others) - Need a numpies guide spinning smiley sticking its tongue out

Posted by JNOD 
Help with bootloader (Gen6 + others) - Need a numpies guide spinning smiley sticking its tongue out
May 28, 2012 02:04PM
Hi guys,

I am new to this but will be posting tons of questions shortly. Reason being, I have just bought a load of bare pcbs and all the parts and started making. I am making gen3, gen4, gen6, gen7, ramps, sang you name it. I want to understand how it all works rather than just buy something ready made, so I figured if I tried to make a few different types, by the end I would know the lot. I know a bit about fabricating boards and have doen a lot of research here so my questions now turn to software.

I got pcbs for most of the list above and am just about to make my gen6 board. Once its made, I will need to program it.

So the questions is, when I built the gen6 board, what do I do next?

I already own a Pickit 2, Arduino mega 1260 and 2560 (chinese clones) and a cheap usb -> ttl programmer. So far, I haven't even plugged any of these programmers into my pc or downloaded any software what so ever.

I have already had a look through the forum but can't find a proper numties guide, that says you have to install X then do Y, plug this into Z, click ? Sorry if I sound lazy, thats not really the case, I am just very green to the software side of it.

I am using a PC running XP, but am looking out for a cheap Mac mini, would this all be easier if I had a Mac? anyway, for now assume I am running XP.

Any help, would be immensly appreciated. I will be posting every day for the next few weeks why I try out making all those boards, and look forward to speaking to you guys.

Thanks in advance!!!
Re: Help with bootloader (Gen6 + others) - Need a numpies guide spinning smiley sticking its tongue out
May 28, 2012 02:17PM
Oh, an afterthought, what colour are the LEDS on gen6 supposed to be?