January 27, 2012 03:06PM
Hi

Machine - Mendel Prusa
Electronics - Sanguinolulu
Firmware pre-installed - Sprinter
Heated Bed - PCB MK2
Software - Pronterface

I am a Reprap newbie so please be gentle! grinning smiley
I have just finished building a Mendel Prusa complete with Linear bearings.
I have come to get the machine up and running and I am having a problem with the heated bed.
As soon as I turn the power supply on the heated bed starts to warm up on its own without any input from the computer!
The thermister is working fine and Pronterface shows the temperature steadily rising.
I have tried setting the Bed temperature to zero but the bed keeps heating up.
The hotend seems to be working fine
The Sanguinolulu electronics came ready configued because electrics are my weak point.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Andy

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/27/2012 03:08PM by Normsthename.
Re: Heater Bed not turning off
January 27, 2012 04:08PM
Just done some investigating.
The X Motor was running in reverse so I swapped all the 4 leads over (e.g 1234 to 4321) it now runs the correct way.
Now the Heater Bed will not turn on at all sad smiley
The extruder is working perfectly holding 210° grinning smiley
The heated bed will now not heat up at all sad smiley

Andy
January 29, 2012 12:29AM
Sounds like a solder bridge or maybe a cold solder joint. Look closely at all the solder joints connected to the HBP FET. And check for solder bridging between pads and traces. You might desolder and resolder the related pads just on principle. And double check that the FET is installed in the correct orientation.
January 30, 2012 06:18PM
Thanks for the reply, but I think I might have blown the part of the electronics that control the Heater Bed.
Now I cannot get anythingsad smiley
See my other post in the Electronics section showing how I got around it! grinning smiley

Andy
March 05, 2012 11:07PM
could be one of three things