Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Azteeg X3 3DP Controller - Single board RAMPS

Posted by royco 
Azteeg X3 3DP Controller - Single board RAMPS
October 31, 2011 11:28PM
Hi All,

I have been working for a few weeks on my first Prusa and at the same time I am also working on several electronic projects in support of the 3D printer I am about to finish(soon I hope). Since my friends and I are building several printers we decided to design a single board version of the RAMPS to basically lower the cost plus add some stuff that we think might be useful, but for the first design it is pin to pin compatible with the RAMPS except that's its just a single board.

Before I start describing the Azteeg 1280 3DP I would like to introduce myself first, My name is Roy, Im a maker like everybody else and intensely interested in 3D printing since Im a mechanical engineer by day. I am also an electronic enthusiast like some of you and a believer in open-source hardware. Im based in Irvine CA.

Azteeg 1280 3DP is based on the RAMPS and Arduino Mega designs. It sports the ATMEL ATmega 1280 running at 16Mhz and FDTI FT232RL USB chip.

Features:

ATmega 1280 micro processor
FDTI USB TTL chip
500ma Switching Power supply (VinMAX = 30V)
Larger Terminal Block for single power input
Lower RDSon N-Mosfets
Higher Gate drive for H-Bed mosfet
Reverse Polarity protection (experimental)
Can accept separate Vmot up to 30V(experimental)
Manual selector for USB power
Separate SDRAMPS / uSDCarrier connector
Single ATC fuse (Comes with 5A and 20A fuse)
Expansion port for future peripherals

Other than listed, everything else is the same with the Arduino + RAMPS. I have 10 PCBs made and will receive the rest of the parts this week so I will start assembly as soon as possible. Most of the parts are surface mounts to ease in manufacturing and lower cost. I have a website but not much in there except for current sensors, when I get the Azteeg 1280 3DP page up I will post it here.