Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Cricut Automatic Paper Cutter - Hackable?

Posted by jcabrer 
Anyone having any more luck running a trace on the USB output?
My wife recently has bought the Cricut. I currently work in the sign industry and seeing Graphtec had compatible software? I wonder if you use the Windows drivers supplied from the "Sure Cuts A Lot" website and possibly the Adobe Ai plug in from Graphtec. You can run the signal to the Cricut/Plotter from AI as MCL-II language? Will this unit cut right away if a signal is sent from the PC? I have not used the unit yet since she just got it but, I am interested in the hacking end.
There are sure a lot of "sure cuts alot" re-sellers posting to this forum. Sure cuts a lot is just some simple reverse engineering of the Design Studio software. I've got my cricut cutting now, and to the post above, talking to the cricut does not work that way. The commands you send to the cricut are cubic bezier points. There is no need to do the jtag thing unless you plan on re-writing the firmware. THat's how design studio works, since you need a firmware update to your cricut, which then enables you to talk to it through the FTDI chip. Anyways, hope this give you hackers out there some guidance, and less respect for sure cuts a lot since it took me 2 days of playing with it to get things going. BY the way, reverse engineering the sure cuts a lot software is a lot harder, since unless you are good at reading x86 assembler code, its easier to use design studio.
has anyone been able to get to the carts yet? I have been to the cutter, but want to read the cards and determine what modifications take place during the gypsy install
[thepiratebay.org]

I'm just sayin
thesyfyguy
Re: Cricut Automatic Paper Cutter - Hackable?
January 05, 2010 06:45PM