Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

STL Slice & Dice - Help Wanted!

Posted by ZachHoeken 
STL Slice & Dice - Help Wanted!
February 22, 2008 10:58AM
I recently got my bot up and running and compatible with the RepRap host software. Unfortunately, there are still problems with the slice and dice code so I am still unable to print anything. I have very little experience with 3D programming which is a bummer, because I'd love to help with that. However, it seems like this problem is one that we should have looked to outside sources for inspiration/help first instead of trying to do it all ourselves. While 3D modelers are somewhat lacking in open source, 3D renderers are actually very badass.

Enter Povray. If you havent heard of it, google it. Its the same program that I use to render awesome looking raytraced images of the PCB's from Eagle. It is a powerhouse to say the least. I'm fairly sure it has support from major places like Pixar, etc. One of the major advantages of Povray, other than being cross-platform is that it can easily be scripted. Not only are the object/scene files plain text that is fairly easy to generate programmatically, but the program itself can be run from the commandline and supports quite a bit of powerful commands. Needless to say, that bodes well for an automatic slice and dice program.

So, you're probably thinking... great Zach, thanks for throwing us another pie-in-the-sky idea that its completely untested. Then I'll say... come on now, cut me some slack. I dont know if you've heard of CandyFab 4000, but if you havent please check it out. Its an amazingly rad 3D printer that uses hot air and sugar to print large-scale 3D models. I've met the people behind it a few times and they are amazing to say the least. Their website is located here: [candyfab.org]