Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

need help finding a code segment

Posted by Suerjugy 
need help finding a code segment
March 15, 2011 02:31PM
Hi. i know the main program for reprap is made in Java. but i wanted to make an application in LabVIEW that does the same thing. this can simplify the electronics in a way since all the motor control and processing can be made in the same PC and just output the signals and do a power circuit to make those signals available for motors since obviously computer signals don't have enough power to feed all the hardware. anyway, the thing is that i can load an STL in LabVIEW and see it in 3D but now i want to cut it down in layers, the next step would be to make those layers to Gcode and finally to control the motors. the thing is that i was browsing through the Java code but i cant seem to find the bit of code that makes that 3D object into layers. i'm no Java expert but i have used it, but i really cant seem to find it. can anyone point me in the right direction? i really don't want to use 3rd party software to convert STL to GCode and then just read it in LabVIEW, it can be done and would be quicker but where is the fun of it? XD thanks in advance.

SuperJugy (i know my nick says suerjugy but it was a typo while i registered)
Re: need help finding a code segment
March 15, 2011 04:21PM

[...] in LabVIEW that does the same thing. this can simplify the electronics [...]

You have quite a bit of way ahead, SuperJugy. You not only want to create stepper signal, you also have to write a G-Code interpreter (or something similar), implement stepper motor acceleration and things like that. Slicing STLs isn't trivial either, as the strategy of laying paths into each layer decides wether you get good results or just junk.