Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

My Super Ghetto RepRap

Posted by Juju 
My Super Ghetto RepRap
October 04, 2013 08:38AM
Hey Guys,

I'm an undergrad Electrical and Electronic Engineering student at the university of Stellenbosch, and I've recently become obsessed with the RepRap. I've decided I want one of my own, and I was thinking definitely a Prusa i3 or some adaptation thereof, but that's easier said than done - buying all the parts is kind of way beyond my student-level budgetary constraints.

SO, in the name of developmental engineering, I've decided to take on the project anyway, at as low a cost as I can manage it. I've talked to my departments head electronician (if that's a word - trust me, the afrikaans sounds classier) and he's given me some old stepper motors and an (relatively new, but broken) printer/scanner combo and I'm examining them for viabilty for use in my reprap.

I'm hoping to do this whole thing for under R1000. The one thing I probably will buy outright is an extruder/hotend combo - that seems a bit beyond me. I do have a few things going for me, in terms of what my faculty can provide - I can get most of the mechanical components fairly easily (bearings, steel rods, that sort of thing) The workshop will provide me with belts (and has already provided me with the stepper motors and the printer) and we have a fully fledged PCB lab that will let me make one board at a time. Not to mention an easy and endless supply and variety of resistors and capicitors. I also *MAY* have access to a 3D printer for the 3D printed parts.

What I need help with is the following:
1) Stepper Motors -
At around R200 a pop, for 5, the official stepper motors are WAY out of budget for me. I've got some, but I don't know how powerful/useful they'll be. Any help with stepper motors would be appreciated -